Skip to main content

2014-2015 Graduate Student Awards

L.R. “Red” Wilson MA ‘67 Excellence in Economics Medal

Red Wilson has provided an endowment that will fund Ph.D. student research prizes. (Currently the endowment can support two prizes of $5,000 each to cover research expenses.) These prizes are to be awarded to Economics students (graduate students in the Field of Economics who have a member of the Cornell University Department of Economics on their committee) who are at the thesis proposal stage or who are working on their thesis.

We received a number of excellent nominations for this medal. It’s great to see that we have so many outstanding students, and the choice was very difficult to make. That said, the selection committee congratulates:

Thomas Eisenberg
Andrew Fieldhouse


Ernest Liu '64, Ta-Chung and Ya-Chao Liu Memorial Fellowship

This fellowship covers tuition, health insurance, and stipend.  This award is a professional scholarship with first preference to students of Chinese descent, and the award will be based on demonstrated academic ability and scholarship with secondary consideration to financial need.

Lin Xu


Graduate Teaching Awards

An integral part of our undergraduate and graduate programs is the teaching done by our graduate students.  The experience gained by our graduate students is extremely valuable to their economics training and to their job market prospects.  The department takes seriously its role in cultivating future educators and recognizes the hard work that goes into both being an effective teaching assistant and a top-notch researcher who can complete a high quality thesis in a timely fashion.  We are very fortunate to have many graduate students who do an outstanding job.

Each teaching award comes with a $500 cash prize:

The Louis Walinsky Fund in Economics in Honor of Professor Herbert Joseph Davenport outstanding teaching award:  

Jorgen Harris
Malin Hu

The Ernest Liu Family outstanding teaching award:

Daniel Reeves
Naveen Sunder

The Howard and Abby Milstein Graduate Teaching Assistantship:

Nobuyuki Kanazawa
Janos Zsiros

The Anindya (Bappu) Majumder '98 Memorial Prize for Excellence in Teaching:

Andrew Fieldhouse